

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

May 16, 2024

1:00 p.m.

Board Members Present: Ben Townsend, Greg McMorrow, Mary Marois, Al Cambridge, Ruth Pilon, Tom Bratton, Ty Wessell, Dean Smallegan, Penny Morris, Shawn Kraycs, Carol Blake, Tony Lentych, Lynn Pope, Christal Frost Anderson

Absent: Dave Freedman, Eric Ostergren

<u>Others Present</u>: Brian Martinus, Stacy Maiville, Jeremiah Williams, Kim Silbor, Brian Newcomb, Darryl Washington, Nancy Stevenson, Dan Mauk, Vickie McDonald, Kiley Fields, Janell Briggs

<u>Virtual</u>: Aimee Horton Johnson, Terri Henderson, Lisa Holmes, Amanda Ritchie, Alyssa Heider, Tiffany Fewins, Rob Palmer, Erica Smith, Heather Sleight, Jessica Williams, Jillian Smithingell, Abby Schonfeld, Becky Brown, Deb Freed, Ann Ketchum, April Weinrick, Amanda Taylor, Lisa Jones, Amanda Ritchie, Rob Veale, Judi Crane, Laura Argyle, Neil Rojas, Kari Barker, Dean Baldwin, Christina Hasty, Candace Kauska-Dietrich, Curt Cummins, Dave Simpson, Cindy Evans, Somer Quinlan, Andrea Weiss, Carrie Hubbell, Trapper Merz, Ashley Spencer, Unknown guests (3)

Call to Order: Mr. Ben Townsend called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

Approval of the Agenda:

MOTION:	Approve the agenda
RESULT:	ADOPTED. [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	G. McMorrow
SECONDER	D. Smallegan

Conflict of Interest: None

Consent Agenda Items:

• Board of Directors Meeting Minutes April 18, 2024

RESULT: ADOPTED. [UNANIMOUS] MOVER: R. Pilon SECONDER G. McMorrow	MOTION:	Approve the consent agenda
		• •
SECONDER G. McMorrow	MOVER:	R. Pilon
	SECONDER	G. McMorrow

Public Comment: None.

The Chairperson, Ben Townsend, recognized a new Board member, Christal Frost Anderson, appointed by Grand Traverse County.

Report of Officers:

Recipient Rights Report: Brian Newcomb, Director of the Office of Recipient Rights, updated the board with recent data from the ORR department. Currently the lowest open investigation month to date, with 41 cases open. Since starting in-person training, the complaints have dropped dramatically. The department is in 100% compliance. Site visits are 77% complete for the year. The next RRAC meeting is in June.

Chief Executive Officer Report: Brian Martinus, Interim Chief Executive Officer, reviewed his report with the Board. Mr. Martinus gave an update on the Center for Mental Wellness, which is still on track to open in December 2024. The agency is looking to consult with Dr. Ibrahim. Northern Health Care Management has been working with the state on the divestment process of the Mi Choice Waiver program. Communication has been sent out to consumers to give them their choice of providers. The providers who are taking over the contract are also working with the agency to offer the staff members positions equal to a parallel move for them.

Chief Financial Officer Report: Laura Argyle, Deputy Chief Financial Officer, went over the finance report with the Board. The full report was included in the desk packet. Ms. Argyle noted that they are not seeing as many fluctuations as earlier in the year. The budget is trending over in contract providers and under on the MI Choice side. There is an overage of \$3.8 million of the established budget, the majority of these are due to residential placements. Internal payroll cost is on track.

Ms. Argyle reviewed the revised Purchasing and Procurement Policy with the Board and its changes. There was discussion about the policy. The Board decided to vote on the policy at the June Board meeting.

Committee Reports:

NMRE Update: Ruth Pilon gave an update regarding the most recent NMRE meeting.

Unfinished Business:

The Board reviewed and voted on the CEO Response to Monitoring Reports.

MOTION: Of those who responded, 100% believe the Board is in compliance with Policy 2.8 Communication and Support to the Board.

RESULT:ADOPTED. [UNANIMOUS]MOVER:T. LentychSECONDERS. Kraycs

MOTION: Of those who responded, 80% believe the Board is in compliance with Policy 3.7 Governance Committees.

RESULT:ADOPTED. [UNANIMOUS]MOVER:T. LentychSECONDERT. Wessell

MOTION: Of those who responded, 100% believe the Board is in compliance with Policy 3.7A Recipient Rights Advisory Committee.

RESULT:ADOPTED. [UNANIMOUS]MOVER:T. LentychSECONDERT. Wessell

MOTION:	Of those who responded, 100% believe the Board is in compliance with	
Policy 3.7B Recipient Rights Appeals Committee.		
RESULT:	ADOPTED. [UNANIMOUS]	

MOVER: D. Smallegan SECONDER: G. McMorrow

Education:

Presentation on IDD and Community Living Supports (CLS) – Nancy Stevenson, Kiley Fields, Janell Briggs and Heather Sleight presented information regarding their departments. The staff members touched on areas of concern, processes, and recent success.

New Business:

Election of Officers:

The slate of officers was presented. Ms. Penny Morris withdrew her name from the nomination of Chairperson and nominated Greg McMorrow as Chairperson. Greg McMorrow and Ben Townsend were considered for the position of Board Chairperson.

Election of Chairperson, roll call vote:

For Greg McMorrow- S. Kraycs, T. Wessell, T. Lentych, R. Pilon, A. Cambridge, P. Morris, G. McMorrow, T. Bratton, M. Marois, C. Frost Anderson

For Ben Townsend – C. Blake, D. Smallegan, L. Pope, B. Townsend

Result: Greg McMorrow was elected as Chairperson of the NLCMHA Board of Directors.

Greg McMorrow nominated Penny Morris as Vice Chair. Lynn Pope was (already) nominated as Secretary. No other names were given on the floor.

MOTION: Close nominations for Vice Chairperson and cast a unanimous ballot for Penny Morris as Vice Chair.

RESULT:ADOPTED. [UNANIMOUS]MOVER:M. MaroisSECONDERS. Kraycs

MOTION: Secretary.	Close nominations for Secretary and cast unanimous ballot for Lynn Pope as
RESULT:	ADOPTED. [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	T. Wessell
SECONDER	R. Pilon

Committee Assignments:

Mr. Townsend reviewed the committee assignments with the Board.

Public Comment: None.

Announcements/Board Comments/Presentations:

Mr. Townsend recognized recent Board member Kate Dahlstrom and read her certificate, which will be mailed. Members of the Board recognized the advocacy done by Ms. Dahlstrom.

Adjourn: 4:00 p.m.

Next Meeting & Agenda Items: June 20, 2024 - Cadillac

• Purchasing & Procurement Policy vote.

Respectfully Submitted,

Stacy Maiville, Executive Administrator

Greg McMorrow, Chairperson

Lynn Pope, Secretary

NOTICE: If any person with a disability needs accommodations, please call the CEO's Office three days prior to the posted meeting date.